An aternative text of the Africville timeline is available here.
While an 1839 rendering of the Bedford Basin clearly shows buildings (and possible settlement) in the Africville area, it was not until 1848 that lands in this area were deeded by purchase to black settlers.
The organization of a church in the area shortly thereafter would signal the official beginnings of a vibrant community originating from eight black families: Brown, Carvery, Dixon, Arnold, Hill, Fletcher, Bailey and Grant.
Despite the construction of the Intercolonial Railway, which bisected the community and caused the eventual loss of some property through expropriation, the population of Africville increased almost tenfold between 1850 and 1964, with approximately 80 families living in the area.
Isolated from Halifax proper, Africville became the preferred site for undesirable facilities such as Rockhead Prison (1853), “night-soil” disposal pits, the Infectious Diseases Hospital (1870s) and the Trachoma Hospital (1905). As a further insult to the residents, the area was refused by the City of Halifax basic utilities such as sanitary water, sewage, fire protection and street lights. Nevertheless, Africville remained – until forced to relocate in the late 1960s – a close-knit community, anchored by the Seaview African Baptist Church.